CHAPTER II.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT

CONSPECTUS

	PAGE	1	PAGE
Part I.—Constitution of Canada	56	Part III.—Administrative Functions of the Federal Government	101
Part II,—Machinery of Government Section 1. The Federal Government Subsection 1. The Executive Special Article: The Privy Council Office and Cabinet Secretariat in its	59 59 59	Special Article: Financial Administration of the Government of Canada Section 1. Departments, Boards, Commissions, etc	101 107
Relation to the Development of Cabinet Government. Subsection 2. The Legislature. Subsection 3. The Judiciary.	62 70 82	Section 2. Crown Corporations Section 3. Acts Administered by Federal Departments	113 121
SECTION 2. PROVINCIAL AND TERRITORIAL GOVERNMENTS. Subsection I. Newfoundland. Subsection 2. Prince Edward Island	84 85 85	Part IV.—Federal Government Employment. Part V.—Canada's External Relations	125
Subsection 3. Nova Scotia Subsection 4. New Brunswick Subsection 5. Quebec Subsection 6. Ontario	86 87 88 90	Section 1. Diplomatic Representation as at May 31, 1955	133 133
Subsection 7. Manitoba. Subsection 8. Saskatchewan Subsection 9. Alberta. Subsection 10. British Columbia	91 92 93 94	Section 2. International Activities Subsection 1. Canada and Commonwealth Relations, 1954-55 Subsection 2. Canada and the United	135 135
Subsection 11. Yukon and Northwest Territories	95 97	Nations Subsection 3. Canada and the North Atlantic Treaty Subsection 4. Canada and the Colombo	138
ROYAL COMMISSIONS	100	Plan	145

Note.—The interpretation of the symbols used in the tables throughout the Year Book will be found facing μ . 1 of this volume.

PART I.—CONSTITUTION OF CANADA

The Canadian federal state was established by the British North America Act, 1867 which united the three British North American provinces of Canada, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia into one country, divided into four provinces, namely, Ontario, Quebec, New Brunswick and Nova Scotia. British Columbia entered the Union in 1871 and Prince Edward Island in 1873. The Province of Manitoba was created in 1870 and the Provinces of Saskatchewan and Alberta in 1905 out of portions of the territories formerly held by the Hudson's Bay Company and admitted to the Union in 1870. Newfoundland entered the Union in 1949. At present therefore Canada consists of ten provinces and the remaining territories known as the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories.

The British North America Act of 1867 divided both legislative and executive authority between the Government of Canada and the Provincial Legislatures. Judicial authority was not similarly divided, federal and provincial courts having jurisdiction with respect to both federal and provincial laws.

Although the British North America Act of 1867 together with its subsequent amendments is popularly regarded as the Constitution of Canada, it is not an exhaustive statement of the laws and rules by which Canada is governed. The Constitution of Canada in its broadest sense includes other statutes of the United Kingdom Parliament (e.g., the Statute of Westminster, 1931), statutes of the Parliament of Canada relating to such matters as the succession to the Throne, the demise of the Crown, the Governor General, the Senate, the House of Commons, electoral districts, elections, Royal Style and Titles, and also